Voting begins in Tanahun 1

Dainik Nepal Apr 23, 2023 | 20:24

Damauli: Voting begins in Tanahun constituency 1. Voting starts in all 152 polling centres under the constituency at 7 am in a peaceful manner, said Hari Prasad Dhakal, chief of the district election office, Tanahun. People can cast their vote until 5 pm today.

Tight security arrangements have been made for the by-election, he said. Nepali Congress candidate Gobinda Bhattarai is scheduled to cast his vote from the polling centre at Tanahun Basic Secondary School in Byas Municipality-11.

CPN (UML) candidate Sarbendra Khanal and Rastriya Swatantra Party’s Dr Swarnim Wagle are deprived of exercising their franchise as their name is not listed on the voter roll. Following the voting, the filled ballot boxes will be transported to Damauli in the presence of the representatives of various political parties, Min Bahadur Kunwar, assistant returning officer at the office of chief election officer. After the collection of ballot boxes, an all-party meeting will be called to count votes, he added.

Nepali Congress’s Ramchandra Paudel vacated the House of Representatives seat after being elected third President of the country. The main competitors for the seat are Bhattarai, Khanal and Wagle. The constituency has a total of 123,305 eligible voters.

In view of the voting, vehicle has been halted along Tanahun-1 section under the Prithivi Highway and local roads from 5 am to 6 pm today. However, fire engines, ambulances, hearses and vehicles carrying water, milk, garbage, health workers and journalists who have carried press pass from the Department of Information and Broadcasting will be allowed.


Popular posts