Sudurpaschim CM Shah secures vote of confidence

Dainik Nepal Mar 05, 2023 | 20:35

Lumbini: Chief Minister of Sudurpaschim Province, Kamal Bahadur Shah, has obtained the vote of confidence in today’s meeting of the Province Assembly in accordance with Article 168 (4) of the Constitution of Nepal.

In the meeting convened at Province Assembly building in Dhangadi today, among 53 Province Assembly members, 41 voted in the proposal of vote of confidence presented by the Chief Minister, thereby securing a two-thirds majority while 11 cast their vote against the proposal.

CM Shah had presented the proposal in the consent of Speaker Bhim Bahadur Bhandari. Khagaraj Bhatta of CPN (Maoist Centre), Laxman Kishor Chaudhary of Nagarik Unmukti Party, Chakra Bahadur Malla of CPN (UML), Dirgha Bahadur Sodari of CPN (Unified Socialist), Khema Devi Bista of Rastriya Prajatantra Party (RPP) and an independent candidate Dr Tara Joshi participated in the discussion the proposal seeking vote of confidence.

Of the total votes cast in favour of the CM’s proposal, 19 were from Nepali Congress, 10 from CPN (Maoist Centre) except for Speaker of the House from the party, seven from Nagarik Unmukti Party and four from CPN (Unified Socialist). Independent member Dr Joshi, who was earlier in opposition in the Province Assembly, also cast her vote in favor of CM Shah’s favour this time. Casting vote against the proposal were 10 members from CPN (UML) and one from the Rastriya Prajatantra Party.

Earlier, CPN (UML) parliamentary party leader Rajendra Singh Rawal who was elected to the Chief Minister of Sudurpaschim Province following last November 20 election had to tender resignation from his post after failing to secure the vote of confidence within the stipulated time. Rawal was elected to the post at the behest of CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist Centre), Nagarik Unmukti Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party. The Nagarik Unmukti Party backed off from lending support to Rawal while he sought vote of confidence. Consequently, Shah succeeded Rawal as the Chief Minister of the Province on February 9.


Popular posts