FSU Election: Election Committee formed in campus for election

Dainik Nepal

Kathmandu: The Free Students Union (FSU) of the Tribhuvan University (TU) has formed FSU Election Committee in all of its TU affiliated campuses to hold election.

The election is slated to take place on coming March 19 in the TU’s 62 auxiliary campuses and 1,040 affiliated campuses across the country.

According to Pashupati Adhikari, director of the TU Student Welfare and Sports Directorate, such committees have been formed in all auxiliary as well as affiliated ones.

The campus chief will be main patron of respective committees, informed Adhikari. The biannual FSU election has not taken place regularly since 2065 BS. The last one was in the Nepali month of Chaitra in 2073 BS.

Earlier, a 16-member FSU Election Central Monitoring and Coordination Committee chaired by TU’s Education Chief Prof Dr Shivalal Bhusal was formed for the same. Furthermore, in view of security concerns in the election, Adhikari shared that chief district officers in all 77 districts have been sent letters to put in place security arrangements.

“Through the letters sent through Ministry of Home Affairs, we have instructed the Campus Chiefs in each campus to coordinate efforts with the local administration to hold the elections,” he informed. As per the election schedule made public, the much-awaited FSU election would be held from 8 am to 4 pm on March 19.


Popular posts