UML leader Subas Nembang’s parliamentary journey

Dainik Nepal Nov 27, 2022 | 21:10

Kathmandu: CPN (UML) vice-chairman Subas Chandra Nembang has been elected the Member of the House of Representatives from Ilam electoral constituency number 2.
According to the District Election Office, leader Nembang won the HoR election by securing 30,020 votes and his closest contender Nepali Congress’ Dambar Bahadur Khadka obtained 29,905 votes.

Nembang was the Speaker of the reinstated House of Representatives in 2063 BS and the Legislature Parliament in 2064 BS. Similarly he was the Chairman cum Speaker of the Constituent Assembly in 2065 BS and 2070 BS. Nembang was elected the Parliament Speaker in 2072 BS also.

He was the member of the National Assembly, the upper chamber of the Parliament from 2048 BS to 2052 BS. The UML leader was elected the Member of Parliament in the HoR election in 2065 BS from Ilam constituency-2. He was elected the Member of the Constituent Assembly in 2064 BS and 2070 BS from the same constituency.

Nembang was the member of the Law Committee, the deputy leader of the UML parliamentary party in 2074 BS. He was the president of the Public Account Committee in 2056 BS.

He was appointed the Minister of State for Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs in 2051 BS and later promoted to Minister. He was also the Minister for General Administration and Local Development.

A professor of Law at the Nepal Law Campus before taking up political career, Nembang was also a noted lawyer (Senior Advocate). He was also put under house-arrest at various times in course of the political struggle against the then Panchayat political system before 1990. He was also jailed for seven months on the charge of sedition when Dr Tulasi Giri was the Prime Minister.

Born on Fagun 28, 2009 BS at Suntalabari of Ilam, Nembang entered politics as a student leader of the All Nepal National Free Students Union close to the Left movement. A BABL degree-holder in Law, he was also active in the Nepal University Teachers Organisation. He was also the General Secretary of Nepal Bar Association. He is decorated with the Constituent Assembly medal and the Rastra Gaurab medal by the State. The Ganeshman Singh Foundation has conferred on him the Ganeshman Singh Janaandolan Gold Medal.


Popular posts